banner.gif (15051 bytes)

Sports from the week of November 28, 2001 Headlight Herald - Serving Tracy, Minnesota, since 1880

Boys have hoop debut Friday night

The Panther boys basketball team hosts Pipestone-Jasper in their season opener Friday night.

Last year the boys won only one game and lost 22 under new Coach Jonathan Ruoff.

"Last year was a learning experience for the boys with a new coach and a new system," said Ruoff. "Hopefully we can be a little better prepared this season, but we are opening against a very strong team."

Underclassmen lettermen last year were Bryce Peterson, Joe Brockway, Austin Skoblik, Jake Peterreins, Greg Carlson, Scott LaVoy, Jordan Roots, Darin Wilking and Brandon Lightfoot.

Graduating seniors from last year's team were: Matt Loeslie, Matt Daniels, Tony Lanoue and Derek Rignell. Rignell was the leading scorer in the 212 Conference and an All-Conference selection.

"We need some players to step up and help us in the scoring department this year," said Ruoff.

Panther girls open Saturday

The Panther girls basketball team has been working out in preparation for their season opener against Worthington Saturday night at Tracy. The game was originally scheduled for Nov. 29 but has been changed to Saturday, Dec. 1 with the C squad game starting at 12:30 p.m.

Last year's team was 18-5. Gone from that team are Heidi Peterson, Jessica Lustfield and McKenzie Schelhaas. Students who earned letters as underclassmen were: Laura Zwach, Marcia Ankrum, Kasey Loeslie, Maria Ankrum, Katie Lanoue, Steph Kaup, Kami Skoglund, Rhonda Bitker, Jenna Tholen, Lindsay Erickson, and Jenny Otto.

Otto was an All-Conference selection last year and Laura Zwach achieved honorable mention status.

The Panthers will host Yellow Medicine East Tuesday.

Travis Christenson takes helm of TMB wrestlers

New Panther wrestling Coach Travis Christenson has been working with captains Erik Kathman, Colin Evans and Jesse Kline plus a large group of hopefuls as the team prepares for its season opening quad tournament to be held at Clara City Friday.

Non-senior letter winners from last year's squad include Erik Kathman, Colin Evans, Jessie Kline, Matt Prairie, Derik Goettig, Scott Torkelson, Jason Morin, Donald Strand and Adam Snyder.

The Panthers will have their first home meet when they entertain Redwood Valley in a dual meet at Tracy on Thursday, December 6 at the Prairie Pavilion.