banner.gif (15051 bytes)

Sports from the week of August 7, 2002

Eight added to Yank Hall-of-Fame

Eight inductions into the Milroy Yankee Baseball Hall of Fame were announced Saturday.

Former Yankee players who were honored were Donnie Dolan, Kenny Dolan, Lee Brandt, Pat Dolan, Jeff Fixsen, Pat Schommer. John Kagel and Leroy Ahlness were honorary inductees.

The selections joined previous Hall of Fame selections John Dolan Sr., Rich Kramer, Mark "Spike" Dolan, Joe Dolan Sr., Reed Lovsness and Bob Zwach Sr.

The Milroy 2002 Yankees face Morris Friday night at 8 p.m. in the double elimination tournament.

Tracy can't beat Wabasso playing shorthanded softball

The Tracy girls softball team participated in the conference tournament at Wabasso on Wednesday, July 31.

In the first game against Clements they won by a score of 16-0 in four innings (15 run rule after 3rd inning). The locals pounded out 17 hits in this game.

In the second game they lost to Wabasso 11-6 in a seven inning game, giving up 8 runs in the first two innings and were not able to come back.

"We played short-handed in the second game, one player short and had to give up an automatic out at that spot in the batting order (vacations and sports camps)," said Coach Paul Skoglund. "It was a challenge defensively missing one fielder but the girls played very good ball. Our defense turned two double plays against Wabasso and Kristina Anderson hit a monster home run."

The girls play Wanda at Wabasso Wednesday, Aug 7 at 7:30 p.m. in a game for third place. Seaforth faces Wabasso for the championship.

Golf Club Notes

• In the American League of the men's league playoffs, Milroy Elevator won over Minnwest Bank South and Johns RX won over Knakmuhs Agency. Milroy Elevator will next play Johns RX for the American League Championship.

• In the National league it was Hubbard Feed over Arctic Glacier and Knakmuhs Agency over the Currie State Bank. Hubbard Feeds will now play the Knakmuhs Agency for the National League Championship.

• Jack Lau got his third career ace when he got a hole-in-one on the 17th hole with an eight iron.

• Dennis Johnson aced number two with a #7 wood. It was his first hole-in-one.

• In the Senior Open that was held on July 22 there were 25 golfers participating. In the championship flight Dave Sogge had the lowest gross score with an 81. Charlie Goerish was the winner in the handicapped flight with a net 65 and Gay Stone was second with a 66.

In the first flight Les Onken had the low gross with an 83. Jack Von Bokern won the handicapped score with a net 63 and Norm Kness was second with a 64.

In the second flight Harris Anderson had the low gross score with a 94, Art Holstein won with a net 68 and Norm Schoephoerster was second with a net 70.

• In the ladies best shot-alternate shot tournament held on July 16 the team of Mary Munson and Dawn Munson won with a 75 and Jan McFarlane and Annette Carr were second with a 75. Pam Peterson had the longest drive and Annette Carr the longest putt.

• In the Couples Tournament held August 4 there were 56 golfers participating. The team of Lerohl and Hollingsworth won the championship flight with a 69, Ron Ries and Mary Schuller were second with a 73 and Charlie Swenson and Sonjia Lund were third with a 75.

Jon and Becky Bot won the first flight with a 73, Ken and Claudia Craven were second with a 73 and Dave and Julie Sogge were third with a 73.

Jeff and Billie Jo Lau won the second flight with a 76, Bill and Gladys Kunze were second with a 79 and Todd and Karen Madden were third with a 79.