banner.gif (15051 bytes)

Sports from the week of March 29, 2006


Home baseball opener scheduled for Tuesday/Softball home opener

Panther baseball coach Bill Tauer greeted 70 candidates, grades 7-12, when workouts began this spring for the 2006 season.

He has 21 varsity players, including the bulk of his 2005 team, plus 23 vying for spots on the B squad, including many of the players who contributed to a successful VFW season last summer. One of the biggest challenges Coach Tauer faces is how to get playing time for all of his prospects giving them the opportunity to develop their skills.

The Panther’s schedule calls for a home game against Lakeview on Monday, April 3 and a game at Luverne on Tuesday, April 4, weather and field conditions permitting.

Varsity candidates are Kirby Arens, Matt Bauer, Paul Carlson, Derek Daniels, Dan Deiter, Sean Fox, Erik Frisvold, Drew Hebig, Tristan Larson, Adam LeClaire, David McCoy, Andy Nelson, Casey Polzine, Derek Radke, Taylor Rignell, Logan Sanow, David Schmidt, Chris Swenson, Derrick Vandromme, Lucas Walling and Ben Ziemke.

B-squad candidates are Travis Apperson, Adam Baumann, Anthony Dolan, Isaac Dolan, Trenton Edwards, Keith Engelkes, Kyle Fraser, Aaron Frisvold, John Gervais, Adam Haecherl, Taylor Hagberg, Chris Hansen, Alex Jones, Eric Lanoue, Jordan Rolling, Brian Schlager, Cody Schons, Seth Swenson, Dylan Vandromme, Kayne Zwaschka and Spencer Zwaschka.

Eighth graders are Tyler Bjorklund, Aric Carpenter, Andrew Deiter, Mark LaVoy, Josh Lubben, Austin Orren, Josh Soupir, Noah Van Nevel and Luke Dolan.

Seventh graders are Alex Blegen, Zach Campbell, Eric Carter, James Fultz, Jeremy Hoflock, Aaron Hohler, Joseph Hook, Zach Iverson, Joseph Kern, John Pool, Marcus Stefanick, Jabes Thomas, Jared Towne, Brandon Kirsh, Dominic Dolan, Blake Giles and Shane Erickson.

Softball home opener is scheduled April 4

Coach Dave Sogge and the Panther softball team are preparing for their home opener Tuesday, April 4. Field and weather conditions permitting, the Panthers will face Central Minnesota Christian.

Another home game against Red Rock Central/Westbrook-Walnut Grove is scheduled for Friday, April 7.

Ballplayers in grades 9-12 are Jessica Bladholm, Ann Byrne, Ashlei Carpenter, Jackie Coulter, Jackie Haecherl, Alyssa Kirk, Stacy LeVoy, Brittany Maeyaert, Cassandra Miller, Elizabeth Rayman, Mariah Schelhaas, Jackie Vroman, Rebekah Zens, Lisa Bauer, Brittanie Carlson, Lindsey Daniels, Mallory Fultz and Rebecca Towne.

Seventh and eighth graders are Alexis Beierman, Kayla Daniels, Adna Dolan, Brittany Hanson, Haley Hebig, Jasmyn King, Kayla Lanners, Brittany Larson, Michelle Lenertz, Jessica Noakes, Monica Prysbilla, Megan Van Essen, Rachel Wilking, Shea Lanoue and Amanda Goblish.


Speakers second at Redwood

Sub-section meet Saturday

The Tracy Area High School speech team finished their regular season with an impressive win at the Redwood Valley Speech Invitational. The team took second place overall out of 25 schools. Springfield took first followed by Windom taking a third place finish.

First-place finishers were junior Celia Brockway who went straight No.1s in storytelling, and sophomore Rachel Stobb in serious drama.

Senior Casie Miller and freshman Carly Miller in the duo interpretation category and junior Jessica Mason in humorous brought home second-place trophies. Both entries went straight No. 1s in their categories. Sophomore Brittnee Michael placed second in storytelling.

Third-place winners were senior Brad Lanoue in creative expression and sophomores Ben VanMoer in storytelling and Jeremiah Martin in serious poetry. A fourth-place finish went to sophomore Jordan Christiansen in informative.

Juniors Levi Miller in serious prose and Patrick VanNevel in creative expression were sixth-place finishers.

Blue ribbons went to senior Jacob Gilmore in creative expression, junior Allison Rasmussen in serious prose, freshman Skylar Carlson in humorous, and seventh-grader Tara Norstegard in storytelling.

Red ribbon winners were junior Bekah Zens in great speeches, and freshmen Melissa Noerenberg in serious poetry and Megan Nelson in serious drama.

This speech team travels to Dawson-Boyd to compete in the sub-section tournament this Saturay. The competition starts at 9 a.m. and is open to the public at no charge.

Tracksters begin work outs

Students in grades 9-12 on the Tracy/Milroy/Balaton track team are Arturo Bautista, Celia Brockway, Bobbi Jo Buyck, Matthew Deiter, Sarah Fritz, Josh Hook, Brandon Kirk, Bridgit Kirsh, Gary Knott, Brad Lanoue, Daniel Malmberg, Jessica Mason, Daniel Mata, Fong Moua, Andrew Nelson, Steve Paradis, Eline Pauwels, Matt Rosa, Roxy Ryan, Nick Soupir, Chad Stibbe, Rachel Stobb, Seth Swan, John Swenhaugen, Jillian Tholen, Ryan Tholen, Sam Van Nevel, Cassie Willard and Cheri Willard.

Seventh and eighth graders are Arlin Bautista, M’Hesi Haugen, Ashley Hedges, Malinda Her, Alexis Horner, Dalton Kirk, Andres Martinez, Jasmine Miller, Nicole Pool, Mackenzie Radel, Dayna Vosberg, Anna Snyder, Ashley Kolander, Hannah Roseland, Andrew Vroman, Taylor Welu and Brianna Parker.