banner.gif (15051 bytes)

Sports from the week of November 11, 2006



Twisters perfume at Shetek Bend


The Twister dance team will perform a preview of their 2006-07 competition routines Monday, Nov. 20 at Shetek Bend.

The event is also a fund-raiser for the team. Shetek Bend will donate a percentage of proceeds from people who eat out at Shetek Bend that evening.

“Everyone needs a nice night out, and a nice supper once in a while,” urges a publicity poster for the event. “Make it for a good cause! Support the Twisters!”

The Twisters’ varsity and junior varsity teams will perform beginning at 7 p.m. People are invited to come out or supper any time after 5 p.m.

For more information, people can contact Twisters’ varsity coach Lynn Carlson.


Football team looks back on accomplishments of season

By Dick Donaldson

The 2006 Panther football team held its “close of season banquet” at the high school cafeteria Monday night.

The team bounced back from a 1-7 season record a year ago to a winning season (5-4), contending for the conference championship and participating in the playoffs.

“Our goal is to initiate a tradition of winning football,” said Co-Coach Derek Flann. “I think we took great strides toward that goal this season.”

Team manager Ashley Vandromme was cited for extraordinary service to the team and coaches.

Seniors Kyle McIntire, Brady Jackson, Seth Swan, Nate Jacob, Adam LeClaire, Nick Soupir, Chris Swenson, Taylor Rignell, Dan Deiter, Logan Sanow and Pheng Her all received awards for four year contributions to Panther football.

In awards voted on by the players, Pheng Her was named the offensive lineman of the year, John Gervais the defensive lineman of the year, Seth Swan offensive back of the year and Chris Swenson defensive back of the year.

The coaches gave Nate Jacob the most improved award, Dan Deiter the special teams’ player of the year award, Chris Hansen the rookie of the year award and Seth Swan and Kyle McIntire the Will to Win athlete of the year award. Drew Nelson won the biggest hit of the year (snot bubble) award.

Logan Sanow, Adam LeClaire, Brady Jackson and Nick Soupir received the “Rudy” award.

Seth Swan, Kyle McIntire and David Schmidt were named to the All-Conference Team and McIntire and Brady Jackson were named All Conference Academic.

Receiving letters were Kyle Mcintire, Isaac Dolan, Chris Swenson, Steve Paradis, Brady Jackson, David Schmidt, Taylor Rignell, John Swenhaugen, Andrew Prairie, Seth Swan, Brandon Kirk, Drew Nelson, John Gervais, Taylor Hagberg, Dan Deiter, Ryan Thooft, Aaron Frisvold, Michael Lenertz, Matt Deiter, Nate Jacob, Matt Hagberg, Logan Sanow, Adam LeClaire, Tyler Bauer, Chris Hansen, Jordan Rolling, Pheng Her, Spencer Zwaschka and Nick Soupir. Kyle McIntire, Brady Jackson, David Schmidt and Pheng Her received captain’s stars.

John Gervais, David Schmidt, Isaac Dolan and Andrew Prairie were chosen to be captains next season.

New coach directs TMB girls


Preparations started Monday for the 2006-2007 girls’ basketball season under the tutelage of new Coach Ryan Kruse.

The Panthers will open the season on Tuesday, Nov. 28 at Luverne against the Cardinals. The Panthers’ first home game will be against Canby on Friday December 8.

There were 57 girls responding to the first whistle of the season. Eleven are candidates for the varsity. They include Lindsey Daniels, Mallory Fultz, Jackie Haecherl, Ashley Kirk, Bridget Kirsh, Bailey Lackie, Michele Lanoue, Molly Miller, Roxy Ryan, Jen Vroman and Shelbie Jones.

Nine girls are on the B-squad. They include Adria Dolan, M’Hesi Haugen, Haley Hebig, Malinda Her, Shea Lanoue, Brittany Larson, Michelle Lenertz, Jessica Noakes and Anna Snyder.

Eighth graders are Teryn Courtney, Kylie Hinrich, Leah Lambertus, Jasmine Miller, Alonae Rooney, Rachel Wilking, Taylor Welu, Kelly Donner, Brianna Parker, Kelsey Hoek, Alyssa Anderson, Danielle Sherman, Michaela Miller, Stacy Luckhardt and Morgan Holm.

There were 22 seventh graders at practice including Heidi Bengston, McKindra Butman, Ashley Daniels, Anna Johnson, Katherine Johnston, Tiffani Karbo, Jordan Lavoie, Miranda Sammons, Darian Sanders, Lauren Schaar, Elizabeth Shelton, Erin Story, Bethany Thomas, Destiny Vosberg, Sam Welu, Rebecca Fedde, Sam Schultz, Kelsey Lee, Kristina Lee, Becca Chandler, Chantalle Miller and Karly Tholen.


Coach lauds improvement, effort shown by B & C-squad volleyball athletes

Coach Nicole Hedrick said that girls on the Tracy/Milroy/Balaton B and C-squad vollyball squads put for “tremendous effort” in their recently concluded seasons.

“The teams did not have an ideal number of girls participating nor the best records in the end but each and every participant put forth tremendous effort and improved immensely during the season.”

Due to lack of numbers most of the girls were pushed to play on both the B and C-squad teams. These girls included Dayna Vosberg, M’Hesi Haugen, Jessica Peterson, Adria Dolan, Shea Lanoue, Jesi Noaks, Monica Przybilla, Brittany Larson, Kristina Rooney, Caitlin Hagberg, Anna Snyder, Brittany Hanson, Kayla Daniels, Destiny Vosberg and Kate Johnston.

“It is imperative that one notes the hard work and improvement that these players made throughout the season,” said Hedrick. “Our final game was against the dominating Marshall Tigers and the girls played fantastically well. All of the games, for both the C and B squads, were very close, and, not only did the girls play extremely well, but they had fun. Moreover, although the 2006 TMB C and B squads’ season records did not statistically show success, it is essential that one realizes the amazing steps toward a promising future that these girls made.”