banner.gif (15051 bytes)

Sports from the week of November 22, 2006



Spikers look ahead to '07 season


The Panther volleyball team looked back on the season, and ahead to the future, at their season-ending awards banquet Shetek Bend Sunday.

First-year Coach Cyndi Raymond said she hopes the strong numbers of seventh and eighth graders out for volleyball is an indication of increasing participation in the sport. She went on to say how difficult it was this season to practice without enough participants to hold a meaningful scrimmage. In spite of the problems the team made good progress during the season.

“I felt that we were just coming together and playing our best volleyball as the season ended,” said Raymond.

Mallory Fultz was selected to the All-Conference team, Shea Lanoue was honored as the team’s “rookie of the year, and Shelbie Jones as the best defensive player. Mallory Fultz and Michele Lanoue shared the best offensive player award. Lindsey Daniels was named most improved and Jackie Haecherl received the Panther award.

Fultz led the team in hitting with 200 kills and Lanoue had 174. Haecherl led the team in serving with Lanoue was second at 164.


Boys prepare for Dec. 2 opener


By Dick Donaldson

Panther athletes out for boys’ basketball held their first workout of the 2006-07 season last Monday at the high school gymnasium under Coach Nat Boyer.

The boys’ first action will be against Redwood Valley at Redwood Falls on Saturday, December 2. They will meet Dawson-Boyd on December 5 and R-T-R on December 11 before their first home game against Minneota on Friday, December 15.

Vying for positions on the varsity were Anthony Dolan, Isaac Dolan, John Gervais, Ryan Kaup, Kyle McIntire, Drew Nelson, Steven Paradis, Andrew Prairie, Taylor Rignell, David Schmidt, Nick Soupir, Corey Warner, Va Xiong and Spencer Zwaschka.

Reporting for B-squad workouts were Austin Butman, Aaron Frisvold, Christopher Hansen, Josh Hook, Alex Jones, Brandon Kirk, Bo Kirsh, Paul LeClaire, Walker Schaar, John Swenhaugen and Kayne Zwaschka.

Attending C squad workouts were Aric Carpenter, Lucas Dolan, Jordan Johnson, Ronald Jorgenson, Jesse Miller, Austin Orren and Josh Soupir.

Reporting from the eighth grade were Casey Benson, Eric Carter, James Fritz, Jeremy Hoflock, Joseph Hook, Zachariah Iverson, Nicholas Peterson, Jabes Thomas, Teng Xiong, Dominic Dolan, Shane Erickson, Andrew Vroman, Brandon Kirsh and Blake Giles.

Reporting from the seventh grade were Brandon Benson, Jerome-Carl DeWitte, Brandon Engelkes, Jeremy Hall, Kho Feng Her, Taylor Hoffbeck, Kody Kirsh, Zachery Miller, Shawn Moua, Jacob Orren, Marco Perez, Brandon Peterson, David Saldana, Reed Salmon, Peng Thao, Johnny Yang and Cody Becker.


Girls open at Luverne Tuesday


By Dick Donaldson

The Panther girls’ basketball team continued to work in preparation for its opening game at Luverne next Tuesday under new Coach Ryan Kruse.

“It would surely be nice if we could have another week to prepare,” said Kruse. “We will have to go with our most experienced players against Luverne.”

Returning letter winners from last year are Jackie Haecherl, Jenny Vroman, Mallory Fultz, Lindsey Daniels, Ashley Kirk and Molly Miller.

The Panthers will meet JCC at Jackson on Friday, Dec. 1. Their first home game will be against Canby on Friday, December 8.


Panther wrestlers hit mats with optimism


By Dick Donaldson

The Panther wrestlers began practice for the 2006-07 season under Coach Brian Michelson at the Veteran’s Memorial Center on Monday. The first action will be a quadrangular on December 5 at Clara City with MACCRAY, Benson and Renville County West. The first home action will be a triangular with Pipestone and W-WG/RRC on Thursday, December 7.

Reporting for practice were Edward Anderson, Michael Anderson, Tyler Bauer, Arturo Bautista, Kevin Bautista, Alex Blegen, Zach Cempbell, Cody Christian, Chad Cooreman, Erik Cooreman, Andrew Deiter, Dan Deiter, Matt Dieter, Colton Evans, Derek Evans, Taylor Hagberg, Kaleb Hamaker, Cheepheng Her, Aaron Hohler, Nathan Jacob, Joseph Kern, Sher Lee, Andres Martinez, Daniel Mata, Roger Moua, Sher Moua, James Prairie, Luke Prairie, Joseph Ruppert, Bradley Schmidt, Brandon Schroeder, Marcus Stefanick, Kong Meng Thao, Leng Thao, Jared Towne, Noah Van Nevel, Sam Van Nevel, Tong Vue, Matt Wakefield, Leng Yang and Dwayne Fedde.