banner.gif (15051 bytes)

Sports from the week of March 21, 2007



Wrestlers note successes

Campbell is all-state, Cooreman finishes with 146 victories

The Panther wrestlers held their end-of-season banquet at Shetek Bend Sunday evening.

Coach Brian Michelson lauded the team for recording a season record of 13-8 in dual meets plus second place finishes at the Maple River Invitational, the Montevideo Invitational and the Camden Conference Meet. The team finished third at the Pipestone Invitational and fourth at the Plum Creek Invitational. The team also qualified for the final four of the Sectional Tournament and sent three individuals to the state meet.

Letters were awarded to Aaron Hohler, Andrew Martinez, Jared Towne, Zach Campbell, Andrew Dieter, Eric Cooreman, Kong Meng Thao, Luke Prairie, Noah VanNevel, Colton Evans, Mike Anderson, Tyler Bauer, Leng Thao, Sam VanNevel, Chad Cooreman, Dan Dieter, Derek Evans, James Prairie and Nathan Jacob.

Participation certificates were given to Zach Campbell, Luke Prairie and Derek Evans for qualifying for the state tournament. Campbell earned All-State honors for his fifth-place finish Class AA finish.

Nathan Jacob was given the Most Improved award, Sam VanNevel the Panther Pride award, Leng Thao the Rookie-of-the-Year award and James Prairie the Most Valuable award. Chad Cooreman had the most take downs with 76, Luke Prairie and Nathan Jacob tied for the most pins with 25 each, James Prairie set a new record with 226 1/2 team points and Luke Prairie set a new record with 40 season wins.

The five seniors were honored for their contributions to the program. Chad Cooreman with a career record of 146 wins and 84 losses, Derek Evans with 98-61, James Prairie with 91-55, Dan Dieter with 57-79 and Nathan Jacob with 48-25.

Ashley Kirk, Mallory Fultz are all-conference selections

The Panther girls’ basketball team held their end-of-season banquet at the high school cafeteria Sunday evening. Panther Coach Ryan Kruse reviewed the season and since it was his first year as head coach he confessed that he had been warned of potential problems developing with the players’ parents but was happy to announce that there were none.

Letters were awarded to seniors Jackie Haecherl and Ashley Kirk, juniors Mallory Fultz, Lindsey Daniels, Jen Vroman, Molly Miller and Shelbie Jones, sophomores Bridgit Kirsh and Roxy Ryan and to freshman Shea Lanoue.

Senior Jackie Haecherl was honored for being selected as an Academic All-State and Coach Kruse commended the whole squad for achieving a 3.2 grade point average.

Mallory Fultz and Ashley Kirk were named to the All-Conference team and Coach Kruse commented that it was a compliment that the coaches had chosen two Panthers to the team.

The varsity athletes selected Ashley Kirk as the offensive most valuable player, Jackie Haecherl as the defensive most valuable player and Lindsey Daniels to receive the Panther award.

The B squad players selected Anna Snyder to receive the offensive most valuable player award, M’Hesi Haugen to receive the defensive most valuable player award and Haley Hebig to receive the Panther award.

Seniors Ashley Kirk and Jackie Haecherl were cited for their long dedication to the program.

The banquet concluded with a highlight film.

Boy's basketball banquet honors players

The Panther boys’ basketball team held their end-of-season banquet at the high school cafeteria Tuesday night.

C-squad Coach Mark Templeton and B-squad Coach Bob Ladehoff praised their charges for having good seasons. The B squad posted an 18-6 season and the C-squad won two tournaments and posted a 20-2 record. Both records indicate future successes for the Panther boys.

Varsity letters were awarded to Kyle McIntire, Anthony Dolan, Drew Nelson, David Schmidt, Isaac Dolan, Taylor Rignell, John Gervais, Steven Paradis, Brian Schlager, Nick Soupir, Ryan Kaup, Andrew Prairie and Spencer Zwaschka.

It was announced that David Schmidt and Isaac Dolan had been selected to the All-Conference Team and that Spencer Zwaschka and Anthony Dolan had been named Captains. Seniors Taylor Rignell, Kyle McIntire and Nick Soupir were given senior awards.